Ingunn in Oslo

By IngunnInOslo

DOORS IN OSLO # 7

Today I will show you a typical door at the West side of Oslo. Yesterday was from the East side.

Sometimes one wonders what is behind the decorative doors in Oslo, and here is one example. The door is nr 10 in the famous street, Bygdøy allé. It is an apartment building constructed in 1899 by the Swedish architect Carl Aaman for Mr. Hans Ferdinand Christiansen. It was a crack that year so the gentleman went bankrupt but managed somehow to keep the house, live here and rented out the other 7 apartments. The beautiful house is a mixture of Neo-Renaissance and Neo-Baroque and has many exterior detailing. Today there is some apartments left, and Bosnia-Herzegovina Embassy is also located here.

By the way, Bygdøy allé has a special song dedicated to the chestnuts trees in the avenue. It's an old song saying that who cares about the splendor of Paris, when this street has the most gorgeous avenue with chestnuts trees where everything romantic can happen in springtime.

I will thank you all for the support and encouragement you have given me in this little street project far away from my comfort zone. I have been so afraid that the photos are totally boring. However you have inspired me to take some more and I have already planned some new door shots to show you - and me! - the diversity of doors in my beloved home city!

Wish you all a fabulous week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.