Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Beautiful junk

Today was la Fête nationale belge so everything was shut. I went to another brocante (flea market) in a nearby village. One woman was selling the usual tat in fron of her house - silk blazers with padded shoulders, warped Johnny Hallyday records, platform shoes from the 70s, Tupperware containers without lids. The door to her barn was slightly ajar. I caught a glimpse of rusted metal and asked if I could have a peek. There's something about rusting metal I find hard to resist. She let me have a look and these are some of the treasures I found. Most of these things were her great-grandparents. If I had somewhwere to put the old clothes drying rack I would have bought it. Ditto the brass and copper bucket, and especially the old iron stove with hand-painted blue and white tiles. I alreadty have one old stove rescued from a charity shop. Bringing home a second one would probably be grounds for divorce.

I behaved myself and went home with nothing.



Yesterday's backblip was quite a contrast to this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.