I'm half my Dad's age

By halfmydadsage

I haven't been writing in a awhile. I don't really know what to write. It's almost been three months since my Dad died. The house is full of both my mom and his stuff. Their whole lives summed up by a house full of stuff. That's not exactly true as I have all their photo albums and great diaries but truly I am sorting through stuff.
Its made me come back to my house and purge. My Dad was a bit of a packrat without mom to help him purge. It's a daunting task to go through their stuff but it's made me aware that if someone had to go through my paperwork or my drawers, they took would wring their hands and ask why this belong there or why I hadn't organized my life better.
If you have a mom or dad and haven't look through their photo albums in a while ask them to go through their memories with you. I wish I could here how some of the stories and photos came about. I had never seen my parents wedding album. I was at a wedding tonight and thought... how often do you see wedding photos and truly enjoy them? Go and enjoy a family members memories. You will love the stories and they will love to share in their old stories. Win Win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.