Country File

By marypot

Goodbye

I said goodbye to my classroom today. I have two more days at work, but one is based in another part of the school, and the other is a day out on a school visit with Year 6. I hadn't really thought about it until after I had taught my last lesson and then it hit me, and I was really, really sad. I spent the rest of the day emptying cupboards, clearing shelves and sorting out all the resources I've built up in my department over the past 8 years, ready for the people who will need to use it in their lessons next year. Feels strange to think someone else wil be teaching 'my' lessons, but in a way it has come at a better time than it might have, given that I've only taught there for a few weeks this year as most of the time has been spent on Maternity Leave. I got upset as I closed the door on my room. It's been such a great part of my career, and I'll miss the friends I made there too. Most of all I will miss the amazing children there. I have worked in some pretty difficult environments during my career, but this one was always enjoyable and the kids a joy to teach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.