Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Ten Woodbine Please!

A few years ago I had a fairly successful shop on Ebay that sold vintage sheet music and old postcards. I sold items to customers all over the world and it was a "tidy wee earner" until Ebay got greedy and bumped the shop rents and selling charges up to silly levels.
I'm left with a few hundred sheets of vintage music, many postcards and over 1000 of these cigarette cards.
I've thought of putting them up for auction regularly, but as I haven't read the interesting information on the back of them all yet, and I love any mundane connection with the past, I'm finding it difficult to part with them.
They cover most aspects of life in the '20s, '30s and '40s, with some even older than that, and were the equivalent of the football cards of my youth.
Rather than focusing on the negative effects of the 10000+ cigarettes smoked to obtain these cards, I like to think of all the little fellas that grabbed them out of their dad's hands and rushed into school the next day to swap their "doubles" and make up full sets.
Simpler times...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.