Gable Erratic

By MsGable

THERE BE MONSTERS

These two large holes have suddenly appeared in the bank up the lane, but are immediately beside the roadside. It is a country lane but still well used by vehicles. I can see no hairs caught on the tree roots dangling in the entrances; no debris outside the holes; no evidence of any animal I can guess at. The obviously well used route through the nettles above has left the vegetation muddy from the recent rain, which makes me think it cannot be a small animal and indeed the pathway is wide and tall under the foliage. The entrances are about 8 inches in diameter and dry earth has recently been excavated.

Any ideas?

Badger was my first thought, but surely not right beside a tarmac road. It doesn't seem the right habitat for a fox either. I'm going for Giant Mutant Rabbit at the moment, and not going out after dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.