Nicola Picola

By nicolapicola

Bristol Harbour Festival

When I heard that the Bristol Harbour Festival was on over the same weekend as my best friend Kat's birthday in London, I thought, 'well that's just bloody typical!'. I'd heard so many good things about it - so I was just glad to have been able to catch the closing of it today.

After having been to St Paul's carnival about a month ago, my expectations were high. Bristol is continually proving to me what a fantastic city it is to live in and even though my boyfriend and I caught just two hours of the Harbourside, it still blew us away.

Bristol has an amazing ability to bring all cultures together in a celebration of diversity. At St Paul's carnival, we rejoiced in caribbean culture and today, we jigged around to folk music at its best in Queen's Square.

The square itself, which was just a tiny part of the festival, was home to a huge stage, programmed by the Colston Hall. Surrounding the stage was a sea of smiley people sat on benches and picnic rugs with flowers in their hair, while a continental food and craft market was on the outskirts.

We managed to catch a Balkan band called Sheelanagig who closed the festival with a knees-up frenzy, and despite us missing two days of the celebrations, it felt like there could be no better place to soak up the atmosphere than this very place, at this very time.

We've had just a taster of this festival - so roll on next year when I can give it the time it deserves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.