Field horses

Pancakes for breakfast, and very nice they were, even if the cook says so himself.

After that it was time to watch the unwatched portion of Michael Haneke's Das weisse Band. A strange film. Unsettling, and subtle, but not by any means overwhelming as far as I was concerned. I wouldn't join in the general chorus of praise.

Lunch consisted of the remains of last night's curry (and very nice, too), after which there was just time to watch another episode of Ballykissangel before I had to head for the hills to meet one of the guys from the Music Group for a bit of a chat. We met in Kilmacanogue, which is in County Wicklow, nestled between the Big and the Little Sugarloafs. I was a bit early for our meeting, so drove up the road towards Enniskerry and Glendalough to pass some time. I passed a turn for the Rocky Valley Drive, which brought back many pleasant memories of days gone by. Apart from being a good place to go for some fine views of the Wicklow countryside, this narrow, hilly, winding road was a favourite place of mine whenever I'd got a new car and wanted to put it through its paces.

As I drove back down to keep my appointment I promised myself that I'd come back up the same way when I'd finished my chat, and that's what I did. It's a great pity that the sky was overcast and that the day was all a bit dull and grey and lifeless (typical bank holiday weather, really), as it would have been great to do some serious blipping from up on the little rocky height I clambered up onto. The views really were magnificent, but the weather didn't do them justice. That's why you're getting these horses in a field instead. This was well along the way back down to Kilmacanogue, from where I took the M11 and M50 and M1 back home.

I don't spread my wings enough. This evening's little drive makes me determined to take the camera a bit further afield than the usual haunts close to home. Let's see if I stick to the plan.

Bigger horses

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.