Thistle Down

By Ethel

I-Diddle Dee

Now...I-Diddle Dee,
Was young...just twenty-three,
In her daily haste,
No time to waste,
She raised a family.

This...I-Diddle Dee,
Couldn't quite agree.
That when she sat,
And held the cat,
She needed company.

Now...I-Diddle Dee,
Stretched out in faded jeans.
But she could not find,
Good food for mind,
With all her magazines.

Then...I-Diddle Dee,
Said, "Come...let's have a spree".
I'll call my friend Midge,
And play some bridge,
And sip a little tea.

Now...I-Diddle Dee,
Laughed aloud with glee.
While husband worked,
Her duties she shirked,
And left herself free.


E.P. 1908 - 1989


Family; This is a self-portrait of me standing in front of a screen at a museum with colored lights behind me. You thought Grandma was smart?? What about this?? Ha-ha

In Grandma's honor I thought I'd shirk my duties...and yes, my husband is working very hard today. Love you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.