Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

Corn on the Cob

I have been wanting to take a picture of this old man for many days now. For the past many days, I see him and his cart at the very same place, but it is such a busy road that I find it difficult to stop my car and take a picture. Today, fortunately, my mom was driving so I requested her to stop the car, while I took a couple of shots.

I asked him if I could take his picture and he said a yes. As it can be seen, he sells corn on the cob and I must tell you, we get the most delicious corn on the cob. They prepare it in a very interesting manner. They cook the whole corn in rock salt contained in the container on the left and the rock salt is very very hot because it is placed on fire. The fire is produced by burning wood. So salt and smoke adds an amazing taste to the corn.

Another close-up of the same guy.

Now there is another version of corn on the cob seen here in this part of the world. This man is a neighbour of the old man and he prepares his corn by burying the corn along with its cover and silky threads coming out of it, all in hot ashes. The corn gets cooked in the heat and steam produced. Once a customer comes, the man takes one out from the ashes and peels it away and hey presto: beautiful and hot golden corn ready to be eaten with lemon and spices or just as it is.

I am getting such a nice response from my fellow blippers, that I am tempted and encouraged to show everyone my part of the world :)

Other than this, I had a nice day. Working on a research paper. The progress is ok. Went with my sister for coffee to Cinnabon. New place here, that I haven't been to before. Its just ok in my view. Nice ambience, nice coffee, nice cinnamon rolls, but not very nice value for money ... way too expensive + too many calories :(

Came back home a while ago, and now I am going to relax and maybe watch some TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.