Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Bee Dancing with Hibiscus Pollen

The wild Bee reels from bough to bough
With his furry coat and his gauzy wing,
Now in a lily cup, and now
Setting a jacinth bell a-swing,
In his wandering.
Oscar Wilde


Have you ever seen a bee revel in pollen with this much abandon?

He was absolutely covered in the sticky white substance. Ah, yes the Hibiscus is blooming... riotously!! You will no doubt see more photos, as I love that I have Hibiscus growing in my English garden.

The first time I ever encountered an Hibiscus flower in the flesh, as it were, was in 1974 when I had just moved to Los Angeles. I was so in love, I used to wear them in my hair. I was, at the time, what you would call a hippie-chick. So wearing flowers in my hair every day was pretty common. However... tucking a blood red Hibiscus flower behind my ear... Well now, that was incredibly exotic. I was very young...

I can still smell the night blooming jasmine which grew next to the Hibiscus.

Memory is a way of holding onto the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose. ~From the television show The Wonder Years

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.