Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

My Favorite Honda

Spent the morning taking care of my favorite Honda.

Went to the dealer for an oil change and a check of the Air Conditioning. Seemed a little slow keeping up with sunny 105 degree F afternoons. After all it is hot in Arizona August.

Decided to opt for Dealer Service because of a bad experience with Brake Max. Cheapskates wouldn't replace a 75 cent oil plug gasket, resulting on oil drops on my lovely garage floor. Unpardonable...

Oil was changed and A/C is within specs. Ambient temps have just been hot and are stressing the design limit of my poor old Honda.

However, I did go to Auto Parts Store and bought for $15 a cabin dust and pollen filer. Spent about 10 minutes installing it in the parking lot and saved a $79 filter installation by the dealer. Air flow is better. After all, what is a Mechanical Engineering Degree and 45 years of Plant Engineering and Maintenance Management worth?

This 2003 Honda has about 45,000 miles and seven years of experience.. Last check on a trip, it go 38 mpg. I love it and expect another 150,00 faithful miles. I haven't paid a penny of interest charges (another nice feature).

As a special treat, I drove through the Car Wash. Then I (finally) cleaned the inside of the windows. Have to take care of my baby!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.