Instography

By Instography

Just a bug

A lady bird. By the looks of things a 2 spot ladybird (Coccinellinae Adalia 2-punctata) although until I looked that up a minute ago I didn't know that there's 46 species of ladybird in the UK, although only 26 of them even vaguely conform to the standard ladybird design of being red with black dots. In fact, being red with dots isn't even a defining characteristic of a ladybird. No, it's all in the feet and the retractable legs.

I'll need to look into who's done the PR for ladybirds and try to give them a job. I also learned that they're just fancy beetles and while I wouldn't go out of my way to squish a beetle, I wouldn't feel bad about it. But a ladybird? I'd rather drown a kitten. Ladybirds get carefully picked up, looked at with the same face people (who like them) use for babies and kittens, and carefully placed somewhere safe and where some aphids might be available. That's good PR.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.