incendiary event

My gas lawn mower started makng a strange noise I looked down ro see a flame at the bottom of the air filter. I couldn't put it out so fearing a mini Bleve from the full gas tank I got a fire extinguisher. Upon returning the mower was enveloped in flames the plastic gas cap had burned off and the gasoline was burning merrily[liquid gas does not explode or even burn; it must be vaporized or dispersed into fine droplets but don't try this at home]. One burst from a Kidde dry powder fire extinguisher and all was calm a second burst kept it so Of course all the gas had burned off I can recommend the Kidde dry powder extinguisher

i guess i am a poor news photog the burning mower would be a much better blip.

Google BLEVE VIDEOS to see what happens when a volatile flammable material is heated in a sealed improperly vented container. the flammable gas cap prevented that Good design? or Luck?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.