Today's the day

By sheilwill

Map

Today's the day ............... to cross the Southern seas

Lots of nice things said about yesterday's blip so I thought today I would show you one of the actual embroideries sewn by Ann Young.

It's a map of South America surrounded by the Southern Seas. I'm not exactly sure when it was made - but it gives a good indication of the state of geographical knowledge of that part of the world towards the end of the 18th century. Apparently embroidering these sorts of maps were all the rage then.

It makes me think of the email I had last night from son Rob (the one who is going round the world for a year). We hadn't heard from him for a week or so - so I sent him an email asking how he was and how he was enjoying New Zealand. I thought he might have reached Lake Taupo in North Island.

An hour later the reply came:
.............. try again mum..?! try Buenos Aires...?! arrived today...!!!

Crossing those Southern Seas is obviously not as hard as it used to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.