From Where One Stands

By cassandra

Phoenix from the flames

This may not be an amazing picture but it is monumental in what it represents.

Today I burned a lot of paperwork. And along with it, quite unexpectedly and out of the blue, this.

This letter signifies the single most awful thing that has happened in my life. And something that has held me back for over 4 years.

It signifies pain and betrayal.
It signifies a damaged career and broken relationships.
It signifies a spiral out of control and a path of self destruction.
It signifies monumental lack of confidence and self doubt.

But it also signifies strength.
Strength to get through those things and be standing here today.

Burning it signifies a turning point. The time to move on.

And it gives me the glimmer of knowing that if I can get through THAT and be willing and able to move on, I can get through this as well.

And I will NOT be a victim. Not then, not now.

Phoenix is rising... (albeit slowly) :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.