running towards nothing

By rtn

Future of the book?

Listened to the BBC Americana podcast on the way home with an interesting interview by Simon Winchester on enhanced e-books. It's a difficult subject, especially for librarians, at the moment. Will all textbooks be electronic in a few years' time? Will we only keep print books that are either valuable in themselves or have a sentimental value? I'm a bit of a convert to the Kindle for iPad for genre paperbacks. I think I'll be having a bit of a clearout at home and making more space for books I want to keep like the one in the photo, a 1920s edition of the King Arthur legends for children, illustrated by Walter Crane.

Thanks to everyone who left a comment on my 200th yesterday - one of the nice things about a Blipday is that you look at journals you might not have seen before, so I'll enjoy a browse later on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.