Diptych

By diptych

stark contrast

The quiet summer lull at work came to a very abrupt end today, and I was forced to apply the 10 minute rule to my photograph whether I liked it or not. So I went up on to the roof, thinking I might do a tiltshift of the traffic. While I was at it, I took a few shots of the buildings around us. This ended up being my favourite.

On the right, the mugama'a - the building where all sorts of official papers are stamped and approved and renewed. It is the beating heart of Egyptian bureaucracy, and possibly the ugliest building in all of Cairo. And to the left is a Protestant church. There was something about all of the grey that somehow appealed to me - the stark contrast to the Cairo that you have seen.

I considered cropping just to the windows of the mugama'a because it was interesting to me how each one was different, and particularly liked the fact that you could see a little white kettle in one of the windows - but I preferred the composition of the entire shot.

I will be back to catch up on commenting when I feel a little bit more like a human again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.