Clean Slate

By cleanslate

Bronze branches

This is the bronze and steel Tree of Remembrance by Fiona Heron and Wolfgang Buttress, in Piccadilly Gardens, Manchester. It marks the many hundreds of civilians who died in the Nazi bombing of Manchester in World War II. I work in City Tower, in Piccadilly Gardens, which was built on the site of blitzed textile warehouses.

It's a beautiful monument, it blends seamlessly into the surroundings, yet always captures me as I pass by.

I thought the black and white simplicity best demonstrated the poignancy of the memorial and I loved that a real tree was pushing into my shot for contrast.

I have finished work for the week now, so I'm looking forward to the day with the little monsters tomorrow. Monster number two actually slept until 6.05 this morning - I'm telling everyone that I'm not counting my chickens before they've hatched but .... I'm lying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.