Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Eastern Lubber Grasshopper

When I set out this morning on my photographic safari, never in my wildest dreams did I think I would return home with this shot.

I was trying to see if I could improve on a shot I took yesterday of some maroon and green leaves -- a back up in case the shot I really had in mind of some pine trees didn't quite work out.

I was reaching out trying to fill the frame with the leaves, when out of the corner of my eye I glimpsed something that was not only a different colour but also a different shape.

It kind of took me by surprise to see this creature. Remember, I am from England and not used to seeing such exotic wildlife. I knew instantly that I had to capture it on camera, if only to convince myself later that I hadn't been hallucinating and this creature really did exist.

Needless to say, Google came to the rescue in terms of identification. It is an Eastern Lubber Grasshopper or Romalea guttata to those in the know about these things.

The shot also demonstrates the strength of Ricoh cameras in macro mode. My GRD III really is a little gem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.