Country File

By marypot

How long to sing this song...

My Big Birthday Celebrations continue:)

After our lovely family day out on the day itself (Wednesday), tonight 16 of us girls, both friends and family, spent the evening at The Elks Head in Whitfield for a meal and some drinkies. It was so special to get out with the girls and have a good old chat without having to be on constant lookout, checking what trouble our babies and toddlers are getting into! The food was amazing: well recommended.

I received more cards and beautiful pressies - some gorgeous bath treats for some 'me time' - and was gobsmacked when amongst them was a voucher for the Serenity Spa in Seaham that some of the girls had clubbed together for. I had been planning a visit to the spa for this Big Birthday, but when I was made redundant in May that became out of the question. Now I can go and have a pamper day after all, thanks to the kindness of friends!

This fabioso cake was made by my friend Trudie who is The Cake Queen. Thanks again Trudie! I only had 4 candles, one for each decade, as all 40 would have presented a fire hazard, hahaha!

As for the title of this journal entry? Well I have been a U2 fan for over 30 years now, so I really couldn't write this up without a nod to their song 40. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.