Jim- Happy Again!

By dougiebuster

We did it!!!

The marriage of Liz & Jim happened today!
It all went according to plan.....well, almost.
I had intended using a whole lot of scanned photos and stuff as a kind of background wallpaper during the meal.
I had prepared all the stuff and tranferred it all to my laptop...or so I thought!
On the night before the wedding, I checked, and there was nothing in the files!
All I could use were pictures on my laptop - most of my pictures had been transferred onto my desktop, so I only had recent shots.
Upshot was...I spent most of the time I should have been with our guests botching together a second rate bunch of shots which only scratched the surface of the story of our past (30 years ago) and our new life together.

Anyhoo, the actual ceremony was a success - lots of weeping ( Yes, I confess, I was overcome and had to start again ), lovely vows from Liz - I don't know how she held it together.
My sisters Beth(Wester Ross), and Christine (Stealth Mummy) provided the music which was so powerful and emotional that I doubted that I could get through the ceremony without disolving in a weeping heap.
'It would have brought a tear to a glass eye' is a fairly accurate description.

The food was tremendous - didn't hear anyone say anything bad about it.
Our speaches seemed to do the job. Liz is much better at this sort of thing than I am, and my wee rant seemed weedy compared to her professionally stuctured description of our new life.

After the meal, we had a 'jam' session where lots of our guests played or sang - the effect was wonderful, and I think that everyone enjoyed this bit the most.

Our wedding day was full of amazing memories, and we will always feel that our special day was made special by all our lovely friends and dear family members who really wanted it to be wonderful for us.

I am a VERY happy man.

JimH.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.