Skyroad

By Skyroad

Fall Note 4: Restless Air

The skies are darkening. Proper October weather now. I pulled in near the East Pier in Dún Laoghaire.

I noticed THESE GULLS almost immediately, on a lamp-post a few yards from my car. Then I walked onto the pier. A woman was sitting on the bench near the ornamental cannon, feeding the pigeons, gulls and other birds (possibly starlings). The air was full of wings. I don't think it was just the scraps of bread. Birds were wheeling crazily all over the place. There was a definite suggestion of restlessness, the bird's equivalent of a departure lounge.

The restlessness of birds reminds me of the restlessness of Autumn leaves. So the last lines from this (very Autumnal) poem, 'Leaves', by Derek Mahon, came to mind:

Somewhere there is an afterlife
Of dead leaves,
A stadium filled with an infinite
Rustling and sighing.

Somewhere in the heaven
Of lost futures
The lives we might have led
Have found their own fulfillment.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.