Thistle Down

By Ethel

Feelings In My Heart

Now...that days are past,
And comforting words are few.
I write you just a note,
In hope's you'll look anew.

I know that you will carry on,
In God...to place your trust.
When sorrow tugs upon your heart,
To kneel -and pray- you must.

If I could only say the things,
Or some great words...could borrow.
If I could only ease the pain,
Of you...who has the sorrow.

I'd like to sort of hold your hand,
And buoy you in life's wrath.
I'd like to cause a ray of light,
To steal across...your path.

I know we all are helpless,
In sympathies we try.
I know the pangs that tear the heart,
When death comes stealing nigh.

But friend...of mine,
Though simple is my way.
I'd like to do a little part,
To brighten up your day.

T'is said...dear one,
That some day we will know.
Just why we suffered here on earth,
And why it happened so.

That in the course of time,
These mysteries will unfold.
Just why it was it had to be,
To you...will then be told.

Heaven...is not far away,
To enter...we do not soar.
We only slip by softly,
Then gently...close the door.

We enter there to glorify,
These ties of family bond.
And gather with our loved ones,
In eternity...that great beyond.


E.P. 1908 - 1989

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.