FauxPunk

By FauxPunk

Colin

I don't want to say much today.

Decided to make the effort to find a decent blip. Mathew suggested a pic of him under this bridge, and I thought the strong lighting would work well if he stood directly under one of the lights. I think I was right. I love this pic of him, but also love this. I think the blip is a better pic of Mathew, the other is a better pic in general... But who am I to decide?

After this, we went down to Mermaid Quay... I still haven't played with the gorilapod and long exposures as I've wanted to for ages - seemed the ideal opportunity. Shortly after we got there, we heard some commotion. A man called Colin had fallen from one of the boats. He couldn't be seen. Emergency services were called - they seemed to take forever, but once they started arriving, they came in their droves. It was kind of reassuring to know that such effort is made for one person.

Unfortunately, it took about 45 minutes to find him. He was hauled out of the water, but sadly he was already dead. I held my camera unused in my hands the whole time. There was potential for possibly the only newsworthy photographs I may ever take as the emergency services did their best, but I would have felt wrong documenting the misery, dismay and torment of others.

At 22:00, Colin and his friends were having the time of their lives. By 22:50 it was all over. I can only hope that he was unconscious before he hit the water (as we heard no signs of a struggle) and that his death was painless.

Puts our petty problems to shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.