Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Greyfriar's Bobby

A little touristy picture for you today. The last few times I've passed it's been too difficult to get a photograph as there have been so many visitors queuing up to take his photograph.

Was in the centre of Edinburgh today to attend a meeting to discuss plans for 'Edinburgh's Christmas'. It's official - Christmas is starting on the last Thursday of November and is being rolled into one long celebration from St Andrews night on to early January, and if we can maybe string it out till Burns' Night on 25 January that would be even better.

Full of the Christmas spirit, I visited a friend who has a jeweller's shop in the Royal Mile. He took me to visit 'Angels with Bagpipes' - a new restaurant nearby. It's definitely going on my list of places I want to return to soon to eat. The lovely owner, Marina, treated us to a glass of Prosecco and some shortbread to round off our cups of coffee. A very civilised visit.

So when I got home to face the reality of the mountain of ironing and found it was 100 degrees F in our garden room it didn't take long to decide that I would abandon the ironing till later in the day.

Edinburgh was looking glorious today as the weather was just fabulous. Lucky guests who've been staying in our cottages this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.