Karin Kroeze photography

By Karin_HK

Forgotten...

This blip was made on a very grey afternoon in Berchem, Antwerpen.

I don't know whether it was because of the weather or because the fact the girls have started school again or just plain pms that I went to a little graveyard that where time seems to have stood still. Probably a bit of all three.

I wish I could say the graveyard is a little tranquil haven, but unfortunately a busy road runs past it. There are some beautiful art nouveau and art deco grave stones and monuments, but it all seems forgotten.

This image is from the Great War memorial, which has been so eroded by wind and (acid) rain that you can hardly read the names of "onze helden" (our heros) that didn't survive that war that ripped my adoptive country apart.

Seems a shame...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.