dieseldaisy

By dieseldaisy

Silver Penguins do Strip the Willow

Going out is so logistically and financially punishing that we rarely do it but this week we managed to find a baby sitter and just go.

We were reminded once again just how fantastic the muscicians who live locally are. The bloke playing the fiddle is W's fiddle teacher, the girl playing bass is L's art teacher and the man on the drums can do most building jobs for a reasonable price. I am not sure what the guitarist does. Every one of them could happily hold their own on any stage. They are mostly in several different bandsplaying different music. Recently one of the fiddle player's just stole the show at Glasgow's Celtic Connections Festival and in another guise just came back from Canada. I have been to more gigs than I can remember and plenty of festivals and these bands could outrun 90% of the acts I have seen. They stay here because they like it and their families are here.

Having stormed through a cracking set I am sheepish admitting that the floor was really only filled to capacity when they announced 'rock night' and did Highway to Hell, Fat Bottomed Girl and Alright Now. Oh - and when they did the 'strip the willow ' tunes.

I tried taking pictures with a frinds camera nd they were much superior so I think until I invenst in something better my winter blips may be a bit poor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.