Juleshki

By Juleshki

Across the Parish

What a beautiful morning and so fresh.

This corner field is but a short distance from my sons' school, which is a little way up ahead along the same road. Our house is just a little way beyond.

My walk to school when I was the same age as my son was rather different. Along a busy and noisy road and rather brisk too, as it covered some distance. None of that seemed to bother me or made any difference to the start of my day. We passed by terraced streets, dark churches with tall spires, many public houses and the old police station.

It was a huge and impressive building, originally built as St Joseph's Roman Catholic Industrial School for Boys in 1913 to educate 350 mostly orphaned youngsters. How different their school days must have been, compared to what my son will experience today.

I expect or at least I hope that my old route to school is still punctuated by some familiar and favourite landmarks along the way. I do know that the old building has gone.

Maybe that should be a blip trip....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.