Northern Exposure

By Northern

Wrapped up for Winter

I'm sure it's obvious by now that I have a slight obsession with compost. I realise others may prefer to spend their Sundays reading the papers (Hi John!) but I'd far rather be making a huge mud pie.

Today I combined two heaps that we've built up over the summer. One of mainly house and garden left overs with a good helping of grass cuttings (this is the one in the pic) and the other of manure, sawdust, newspaper and hen pen (that's chicken shit if you didn't know).

I had great fun layering it all up like a giant Scooby Doo sandwich. And ended up with a metre (ish) cubed pile. Campbell happily obliged his mad mother by climbing up the top and peeing on it to give it a kick start. Then I tucked it up under old carpet and feed sacks and weighted it down with slates. It should cook slowly over the Winter and be ready to use in the Spring, with a bit of luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.