Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Russia: St Petersburg

I'm on a tour bus in the absence of a personal visa and am taking the walking tour whilst the boys stay back on the ship today.

I stop to watch an old master at his craft: he is attempting to photograph the pigeons in front of the palace at the moment of their departure, feeding them along the way, except that passersby continue to interject and spoil his otherwise perfect set. What patience he has (and what a Nikon).

Spain have just won the World Cup and are celebrating in the streets.

It's been 20 years since I've been to Russia and whilst browsing the shops with the incredibly beautiful Russian women behind the counters, all speaking impeccable English, I spot a less garish Russian doll and buy it for the boys, that is, after a shot of vodka offered near the entrance, no doubt to warm up buyers.

My reflections on St Petersburg are recalled tomorrow.

My attempt here is to create the garishness of the baroque, with a little lens flare for good measure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.