Moments

By togrrrl

Seasons

Today is the first day of Jewish New Year, called Rosh Hashonah. I have no idea how to spell it because I grew up hearing the words; I never saw them written down.

We went to my cousin's place for dinner. Although I'm not at all religious, I like the simple ceremony of dipping an apple and piece of challah (sweet egg bread) into honey to symbolize our wish for a sweet year to come.

I always fight against the ties of tradition and obligation but I can only do that because I belong to a large extended family and have lifelong bonds of love and familiarity. The ties sometimes chafe but on balance I'm lucky to have them.

I noticed this beautiful vine this morning, stlll growing despite the suddenly colder weather. We marked a New Year tonight with ancient traditions renewed each year. This vine is also a reminder of the cycle of the seasons and the vitality of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.