a town called E.

By Eej

Priceless

The day started with rain.
And then some more rain.
And a headache.
And LOTS more rain.

So, my long awaited and anticipated Wine & Harvest Festival saturday fell flat on its wet butt. We did eventually wander out to the book sale (and found some goodies, like Tales of Lake Wobegon by Garrison Keillor) and then over the Arts and Crafts, but we didn't go to the carnival, or saw any of the other activities.
And (here's where it hurts:) we were too late for the free wine tasting.
We will however do some paid tasting later today ;)

When we got home there was a rather big parcel in our mail box. The Beloved shook it rather wildly before he noticed the sender. "Hey," he said:"It's from Ron and Martine!"

My heart skipped a beat.
Could it be? Surely not! But maybe?
We looked at the green customs sticker. Black Licorice, it said.
I yelled: "DROP!"

Then I did a little dance in the driveway.

As an immigrant there are often moments where I'm NOT homesick, but you mention 'drop' and a rush of adrenaline and Dutch pride rushes through my body.

I had 3 of these. These three to be exact. I will have to count and ration them to make them last, although they were generous enough to send me TWO bags.

So, so happy.
Thank you SO much, Ron. You guys are stars :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.