Lesley's day by day

By lesleydiack

Pebbles on a beach

This reminded me of a children's address in church when a jar was filled with pebbles and it looked full but then little shells were added and the jar was shaken and they fitted in between the pebbles. Then sand was added and still the jar wasn't full. But what was this teaching us?

The pebbles are the most important parts of our life, God, Home, Family; the shells are the less important parts - our work, our hobbies etc and the sand was the rest of the things in our life that help fill it and sometimes get in the road of the big things.

Of course I have since seen this same lesson with a cup of coffee added which represented that we should always have space for coffee with friends!!

As I walked through Johnshaven this afternoon it was good to think about the important things in my life and give thanks for them on this glorious day! I also enjoyed my cup of coffee with friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.