schlimm

By schlimm

Breakfast

This is what I saw when I looked out of our kitchen window at breakfast time. A falcon feasting on a pidgeon. My camera's zoom is not the best so of my 20 blips this was the best. Got the kids to look out too and when we inspected the garden after school you could still see the feathers and the carcass of the pidgeon's body (no head left, that seems to be the delicacy) was left on the lawn with wasps eating bits of the flesh.

This all in the middle of Edinburgh on a day when this man came to visit. Eerily quiet already this morning when walking to school and nursery and then quite loud when these started to appear overhead, circling. After the popemobil had come past this group picked up the rear.

Interesting day and I can now add the pope to the people that I saw in real life and not only on a television screen or in a newspaper. Weird collection: FW de Clerk (about a meter away, just before Mandela was elected), Nelson Mandela (not close enough), the Queen (went really early and had to wait forever only to just catch a glimpse) and now the Pope (in front of the office).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.