incidental music

By incidentalmusic

adventures in sight and sound

The Bath Film Festival kicks off tonight with 'Air Guitar Nation', which I was tempted to pop along to, but my evenings in darkened rooms begin in earnest on Sunday, and carry on for about a week.

The festival has gathered strength over the last few years. I remember, a good few years ago, showing up to a festival screening of 'Stop Making Sense' at a now defunct cinema and finding the place locked up at the appointed hour. The dozen or so other film / music buffs had to wait for another 30 minutes for the organiser to arrive, having got his schedule mixed up. I also remember, that same year I think, seeing the only print in Europe of 'Wings of Desire' and being prfoundly moved by it, again in a half empty cinema.

It's properly organised now though, and really well attended (hence the advance tickets - I'm fed up with being turned away at the box office). The screening of 'Distant Voices, Still Lives' is to be introduced by the elusive director, Terrence Davies, and the legendery Nicholas Roeg is to introduce his new film 'Puffball'. Let the lights go down :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.