Optimistic photo journal

By timook

Today I got more personal space

What was previously 10GB is now 309GB of free space in my hard disk - so now I can keep on photographing as much as I want. :-) It took some googleing to find out recommended steps, but it went quite well.

I also noticed that some of my knowledge is a bit outdated, for example partitioning is not justified anymore by saving space (by getting smaller memory allocation unit), modern disk arrays have the same 512K no matter how big is the hard drive (or so I understood).

Besides more space this new is clearly faster! All things that require reading disk are quicker now - for example starting big programs or opening a photo folder in picture management. Good!

BTW: Youtube is quite amazing as there's a video guide to almost anything, macro coding in Excel, tying a tie (I use Double Windsor) and changing hard disk - mine went quite exactly according to this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.