My happy little life

By khoola

Great North Run

Today I ran the Great North Run half marathon. From the start, all the way to the finish line 13 miles later, I ran. I have never run this far in my entire life, and am more than a little bit proud of the achievement!

It was an incredible, emotional day.

My lasting memories of it are / will be:

Discarded clothes, everywhere
Discarded bottles, everywhere
The overwhelming smell of Deep Heat
The amazing people of Newcastle, cheering, high-fiving, hosing and giving food to runners
Wasting valuable running time queuing for truly horrendous portaloos
Desperately watching out for the next mile markers
People running in what can only be described as gimp costumes
A sense of being part of something really amazing
Not being able to look at the "in memory" notices on people's backs in case I cried
Getting very, very wet
Getting a little bit emotional crossing the finish line
Playing little games with other runners along the way.....my brother will understand!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.