Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Oasis

Although many gorgeous trees met their end yesterday, most remained to photosynthesize another day. And a beautiful day it was!

I got a lot done in the morning and finally lined up a new home, laid the foundation stones for many new projects (including a Fulbright), and applied to a few full/part time jobs around the NYC area while I'm here to work on our film project (NYC isn't cheap). I was so happy with myself with all I got done I took the afternoon to bicycle to Prospect Park, a huge leafy gem of a park in the middle of Brooklyn.

I cycled the 3 or 4 mile loop around the park twice, stopping to botanize, photograph, and read in the grass. I discovered a local Audubon chapter nearby and was offered a job guiding as a local naturalist on the weekends. I spotted black and white warblers, gazed on lofty sycamores and oaks, foraged for wild chestnuts and rose hips for tea, and discovered a huge fungi that I think is chicken-of-the-woods. In the end I laid in the grass on an open field full of people playing with their kids, doing yoga, kicking soccer balls, walking or taking time out. I joined in to take time out too, reading and soaking in the late afternoon light. Kissed by the first caress of early fall.

Finding my niche in the concrete lands. My oasis in the wilderness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.