Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Rubies

Our friends Judy and Bella (she who made these beautiful sculptures) came to dinner last night and brought a bouquet of ruby chard from their garden. I thought I'd try photographing them just as the sun was coming into the living room early this morning. I liked the result. Here it is up close.

The chard will end up in a pie with caramelised onions and feta this evening.

Little presents from friends' gardens - vegetables, fruit or flowers they've grown themselves - make the best gifts in the world. I appreciate them far more than cut flowers from the florist or supermarket or petrol station. I've never liked bought flowers, no matter how pretty they are or who's offering them. They have no fragrance, they're expensive, are often transported great distances and start drooping within days.

I'm curious if anyone else feels the same way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.