Bumblings of a bee

By Beesarefine

Memories are made of this...

I took the bunny to the vet this morning. On getting home we found a huge slug rushing across the garden path towards a plant already sporting a snail.

Decided to spare you the slug in favour of memories:

I have always loved the border of pink and purple roses on the china plate, one of only three remaining of a tea set which belonged to my grandmother. I also have two or three cups, several saucers, a sugar bowl and milk jug ut these don't see the light of day.

The dish came from Woolworths in Camberwell and I gradually collected various matching items. Recently I gave most of them to my cousin's daughter. Maybe one day she'll look at them and remember..

Green was one of my mother's favourite colours and this plate was hers. I have one other. I've never been that fond of green (except in nature) but I like this plate.

Last month I bought the white plate because I couldn't find my side plates - guess what turned up the following week!

The pink and grey plate from a housewares shop half way up Stamford Hill. I lived at the bottom of the hill, the supermarket was at the top (on the opposite side to the red light area!).

I think my shopping trolley came from the same shop and prevented my arms from being pulled out of their sockets carrying shopping down the hill or washing up it on the way to the launderette!

I still have the trolley which has earned it's price many times over transporting books, laundry, christmas gifts, clothing and countless other things.

Oh, and last but by no means least, at the front is the latest in Obi's collection of dishes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.