Look out, it's the egg thief!

Firstly, let me point out that it was not me who painted the inside of my hen house pink. It had been used as a children's den when I bought it - unfortunately it didn't still have the curtains, but it did have the curtain wire!

It was built in the 1950s and is on two long runners, the idea being that it could be dragged by tractor round the field to new grass. The chap I bought it off told me that his father had shipped it in from one of the North Isles when he had came to live with them in the 1970s. It is a bit leaky but I am nursing it along and hope to get a few more years out of it yet. The outside is a tasteful British Racing Green type colour, so as to blend in with the mud and grass surrounding it!

Luckily the hens are quite happy in it and don't seem to mind, so long as there is plenty of straw to stratch in and food to pick at. Their favourite at the moment is mashed potato and sweetcorn. I'm being generous to them as they are moulting and I feel sorry for them.

Every time I go in they look at me suspiciously; I think they would prefer it if knocked before I entered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.