The people's favourite

A grandiose title to show you a website many of us look at to track earthquake activity. I thought I'd show you it.

Christchurch quake live is a local site using Geonet data. The quake magnitude link is what I've blipped today.

It makes for interesting viewing as does Geonet's - recent NZ earthquakes. Have a look at these sites and see what an active little country we are!

Another 'rattler' passed through at 3.40am. It woke me up and I did ok. I pulled the duvet over my head and then stuck my arm out to reassure the fur child. I felt him jump beneath his blanket on the bed beside me.

It was a decent shake, similar to the one I described yesterday morning. I prefer being in bed to standing beside it. I didn't feel the floor move as much. It kept on rocking for a fair while, calming to a continuous gentle rocking motion - much like gently bobbing in a small boat (but without the relaxed feel ;-)

So yes, broken sleep but it was ok. At least I've experienced a quake in bed and know I can get through.

Better go. I'm off out to Dave Dobbyn.. He was to play in the Cathedral but the earthquake means it's now the town hall. I was given a couple of tickets. He's a bit of a kiwi legend and it should be be a great night.

Oh, at time of posting this, 737 quakes have been recorded over the past 3 weeks. We don't feel all of them but we feel most.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.