...wORds bE fEW

By tnahlyn

Building Walls

Brick by Brick the wall is built.

At first it doesn't seem so bad. I can still walk around it, I can even step over it.

Years go by and the wall becomes longer, the bricks begin to get higher.

Deep between the mortar are the hurts, the pain, the reasons I set a brick upon another.

I look down the wall, standing on my tip toes, wondering why I stacked them so high, why has it become so long?

I realize that the bricks on the bottom are a faded memory. Old and tired, it still stands, but what was the reason? I can not recall, but that brick is still securely in place.

Some of those bricks might as well be in a neon glow, I know EXACTLY why I placed it where I did. Those stay there for a long time. Those hurts have been lingering on the surface for years. Even after the apologies and forgiveness. Oh, I still have a brick with "YOUR" name on it.

Some are there right where I left them, but now those people that have caused me so much pain, that I quickly stacked each barrier in the vertical climb, have long left me. They haven't been in my life for years, but those bricks are still standing strong.

I stand on tip toe again, I see the other side, I see the green trees, windows that need to be opened, bricks that are loose that need to come out.

Brick by brick I begin to tear down the wall.

This great wall wasn't formed over night, but many of these bricks can be tossed out in a hurry. They can be reclaimed, reused, placed around the base of a tree, to hold back the soil in the garden, to make a path to fresh water.

You see boundaries are necessary, important, life saving. Barriers are bondage, paralyzing, heartbreaking.

I am tearing down walls that I built to save myself from pain, causing other types of pain. I tear down these walls, brick by brick, so that I can walk around it, step over it and love you.

Brick by Brick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.