Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Morning peaches

Peaches bask in the morning sun, the only sun we had today. The large stoneware bowl they sit in was a flea market find for 2 Euros.

These are called pêche du Bourgogne and they were another gift from our friends Judy and Bella who are the most amazing and generous gardeners I have ever met. (Here's a peek into their beautiful garden, and here's another. Eat your hearts out, why don't you.) The skins of these peaches are a dusky pinkish-brown, and their flesh is a deep wine colour, exactly like the wine from Burgundy in France. I love peaches, they remind me of bables bottoms.

They will be poached, then skinned, pitted, and eventually turned into the most fantastic jam. But not today, because I'm up to my eyeballs with preparations for tomorrow's lunch when we will be 9 people at our little table. If I allow myself to be distracted by Blip, we'll all end up with chocolate chips and chorizo in the same tart which would be a disaster for everyone.



Thanks for all your wonderful comments on yesterday's blip which I'll pass on to Bella. She'll be tickled to read them and will no doubt want to give me more peaches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.