CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

The fates against him

Found this injured bird of prey.

SSPCA tried to help, but there are times things just don't work out the way you want them to.

We went for a walk along the coast today, found ragged robin, and michaelmas daisies, bumble bees and dragon flies.

I found a broken kite. I spent ages replacing one strut with a lollypop stick, adding a ribbon found on the beach as a tail and splicing a second strut with a tube washed up by the tide (it was a tampon applicator, come on gals, you were told to stop flushing those ten years ago).

We had a silly time on the beach trying to get it to fly, but once launched it just kept spinning and spinning. That was nearly my blip.

In a small patch of woodland beside a golf course we found this poor peregrine. RSPB say they are not endangered, but even so.... We were miles from a car, or house, and we didn't even know which golf course we were on. It was after dark before I managed to have a proper conversation with the SSPCA, by which time I was told that without a better location they were pretty powerless. I know they were right, but it still feels sh!te.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.