Fi

By Fi

Maraton Warszawski, 26 Wrzesnia

Well I wasn't up to see the start of it, but I looked up the route online and popped along to the 34km point, where there was a group playing african drums, which made for a really good atmosphere under the road-bridge. I was on my bike, so pootled along the route for a while and made my way towards the finish line and managed to see a good few of those I'd spotted earlier, make their final dash to the end and to their plastic carrefour 'capes' and bottles of powerade. An award ceremony was taking place and I couldn't see for the giant cardboard car-key to denote ownership of a new Volvo S60, but I think the winner of the female race was draped in a Kazakh flag.

I knew one person running, but didn't see him - probably missed him at the 34km point by minutes, but did it in 3:12, which is pretty damn impressive. He said there was a gospel choir in the tunnel that they ran through - (closed to traffic, thankfully!) which must have been pretty cool. I should have gone there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.