A Noble prospect...

Another wet, wet day; similar to Thursday last. Today we didn't get any prospect of actually being rained off, so I set my minions to digging up the various service trenches across the cemetery area. There are gas- and water-pipes and drains of various vintages; all needed to be dug at some point so I have been saving them for a rainy day.
I was out in the weather, shifting large amounts of very boring spoil, as well. I don't like to tell people to dig in horrible conditions and then retreat to the site hut to "catch up on important paperwork" ;)
The upshot was that I was tired and damp when I got home, and shopping for food had sapped the last reserves of brain-power. When M returned from Tyneside, we went out for a pub meal at Nobles.
This is the doorway.
It is one of those late-Victorian pubs with amazing stained glass and plasterwork, built when the temperance movement was gaining a bit of ground, to look as classy and attractive as possible. It has had its troubles over the last several years, but is still a place of great beauty.
The beer was OK, but M's fish was a bit soggy.
Now it's definitely bedtime. Sweet dreams, blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.