Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Chelsea Morning

Chelsea Morning by Joni Mitchell

Woke up, it was a Chelsea morning, and
the first thing that I heard
Was a song outside my window, and
the traffic wrote the words
It came a-reeling up like Christmas
bells, and rapping up like pipes
and drums

Oh, won't you stay
We'll put on the day
And we'll wear it 'till the night comes

Woke up, it was a Chelsea morning, and
the first thing that I saw
Was the sun through yellow curtains,
and a rainbow on the wall
Blue, red, green and gold to welcome you,
crimson crystal beads to beckon

Oh, won't you stay
We'll put on the day
There's a sun show every second

Now the curtain opens on a portrait of today
And the streets are paved with passersby
And pigeons fly
And papers lie
Waiting to blow away

Woke up, it was a Chelsea morning, and
the first thing that I knew
There was milk and toast and honey
and a bowl of oranges, too
And the sun poured in like butterscotch
and stuck to all my senses
Oh, won't you stay
We'll put on the day
And we'll talk in present tenses

When the curtain closes and the rainbow runs away
I will bring you incense owls by night
By candlelight
By jewel-light
If only you will stay
Pretty baby, won't you
Wake up, it's a Chelsea morning


I should have blipped first thing this morning when the moment happened and I stepped outside on the upstairs deck, looked east and clicked. I waited till the day ran its course in case some surprise came along the way. So I put on the day and wore it till the night came!

Actually, I sat quietly, mostly, all day reading the summaries my students have written so that I can return them tomorrow. I made myself stay away from the computer--Blipfoto, emails, FaceBook--because I must return these papers tomorrow.

So this evening late I have opened email to find one former student in distress. "Help! Help" she is signaling. She doesn't understand the assignment her new instructor has given. So hopefully I have brought some clarity to the matter. I think mostly it is a fear factor that causes confusion in a higher level writing course in a new semester.

So I apologize for not wandering through Blips today. I am thoroughly whipped. If I were in the UK (I'd love to be), I'd be thoroughly knackered. So, I am somewhere between knackered and whipped. Sounds rather exotic, don't you think. Nah!

Good night from Southern California--the land of fruits and nuts and student papers.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.