Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

A little helping hand

The boys are back with me today. It's the longest I've ever been apart from Callum: two days. I feel elated to see them again and smell their sticky, sweatiness after their journey in the car. We all play in the park before walking back home to Mum and Dad's.

My sisters Anne-Marie with daughter Aurora with Geraldine are with us and it's the first time I have shared being present time with both sisters and boys. How such a thing can be taken for granted when you live but a stone's throw away from each other and how for us, it is a cherished moment, one to savor slowly, lest it be consumed all too quickly and the 1,000s of miles once again come between us.

I know at times this appears as a journey of my children's hands and feet and perhaps it is. It always has been since their blessed births. Our hands first gave us language as you'll see. They mean the world to us.

I love the image create. I just love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.